What are BTEC Qualifications?

BTECs are vocational alternatives to GCSEs and A levels that can be studied at school or college. Historically, those that chose to go down the BTEC route struggled to find higher education courses that were willing to accept them but now that is no longer the case. Many universities have changed their criteria to welcome students with vocational courses as they see the value that coursework holds. To help you learn more about BTEC qualifications, we have teamed up with a top private school in London to create the guidance below for both parents and students.


What Levels of Study Are BTECs Equivalent To? 
BTECs can be studied from level 2 which is the equivalent of a GCSE and go all the way up to a level 7 which is the equivalent of a master’s degree. 

What’s the Structure of a BTEC Course Like?
 BTECs come in all shapes and sizes. They can be studied full time whilst in school or college or part time while doing an apprenticeship. They tend to have assignments to complete, although, new courses have additional exam elements. 

How Are BTECs Graded? 
The grades that can be awarded are pass, merit and distinction. A distinction is the highest grade that you can be awarded while a pass is the lowest. 

How Many A Levels are BTECs Equivalent To?
This all depends on the type of BTEC that you’re studying. A BTEC Subsidiary Diploma is the equivalent of a single A level, a BTEC Diploma is the equivalent of 2 and a BTEC Extended Diploma is equal to 3. This gives BTEC students the ability to pick and mix subjects to study just like A levels students, helping them to keep their options open. 

Are A Levels Better than BTECs? 
They each have their own merits. BTECs tend to be more career specific, and you’ll find that there are specialised ones out there like BTEC Electronic Engineering. A good option if you know exactly what it is that you want to do.

*Collaborative post